EUROPEAN COMMISSION DIRECTORATE-GENERAL FOR AGRICULTURE AND RURAL DEVELOPMENT

Brussels, 8 January 2013

Composition of the Steering Board of the European Innovation Partnership on Agricultural Productivity and Sustainability

To ensure the successful development and implementation of the European Innovation Partnership (EIP) on Agricultural Productivity and Sustainability, a High Level Steering Board has been appointed by Dacian Cioloş, European Commissioner for Agriculture and Rural Development and Máire Geoghegan-Quinn, European Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science, who will co-chair the Steering Board.

The High Level Steering Board consists of 42 high level personalities who represent key interests across the agricultural innovation landscape such as Member State representatives, regions, farmers' and forestry organisations, agricultural scientists, environmental and consumer organisations as well as up- and downstream actors.

The High Level Steering Board will provide the EIP with guidance. It will kick-off the implementation of the EIP and establish a Strategic Implementation Plan (SIP) which will give strategic advice to the EIP and provide orientation on its main working areas. The SIP will also specify the potential added-value of EIP actions in a particular area, identify bottlenecks and opportunities, and provide recommendations on how to accelerate innovation action and knowledge exchange.

To achieve the above objectives the High Level Steering Board will inter alia:

- identify strategic priorities and areas of operation for the EIP;
- identify main acting stakeholders as well as the broader stakeholder communities involved in and driving the EIP, analyse bottlenecks at different levels and for different types of stakeholders and recommend strategic solutions for tackling those bottlenecks through the EIP;
- make recommendations on how to pursue innovative solutions which advance productivity whilst integrating environmental and social concerns.
- make recommendations on enabling conditions and success factors for the effective and efficient implementation of the EIP;

In order to support the High Level Steering Board, its members will nominate Sherpas, who will be in charge of drafting the SIP and who will interact directly with the European Commission, DG Agriculture and Rural Development, which will provide the function of the secretariat of the High Level Steering Board.

Contact: EIP secretariat: agri-eip@ec.europa.eu

Members of the High Level Steering Board

Chairs	
Mr Dacian CIOLOŞ	Commissioner for Agricultural and Rural Development
Ms Máire GEOGHEHAN-QUINN	Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science
Members	
Mr Athanasios TSAFTARIS	Minister for Rural Development and Food of Greece
Ms Mette GJERSKOV	Minister for Food, Agriculture and Fisheries of Denmark
Mr Daniel CONSTANTIN	Minister for Agriculture and Rural Development of Romania
Mr René SOUCHON	Member of the Committee of the Regions
Ms Anne GLOVER	The Chief Scientific Advisor of the Commission
Prof Francesco SALAMINI	President of IASMA, Italy
Prof Doru C. PAMFIL	Rector of the University for Agricultural Sciences and Veterinary medicine, Cluj
Mr Urs NIGGLI	Director FiBL
Mr Erik MATHIJS	Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Ms. Marion GUILLOU	Coordinator JPI FACCE
Mr Wim H. M. SARIS	Coordinator JPI HDHL
Mr Richard HOWELL	Standing Committee for Agricultural Research
Dr. Karin METZLAFF	European Plant Science Organisation
Dr. Franz BIGLER	International Organization for Biological and Integrated Control
Dr. Willy KESSLER	European Grassland Federation
Mr. Ruud HUIRNE	European Association of Agricultural Economists
Mr. Andrea ROSATI	European Federation of Animal Science
Dr. Angelika HILBECK	European Network of Scientists of Social and Environmental Responsibility
Mr. Peter DAVIES	Eurogroup for Animals
Mr Jorgo RISS	Greenpeace - Green 10 (2 representatives)
Mr. Ariel BRUNNER	Birdlife - Green 10 (2 representatives)
Mr. Benedikt HAERLIN	ARC 2020
Mr. Albert Jan MAAT	COPA-COGECA
Mrs. Geneviève SAVIGNY	VIA CAMPESINA
Mr. Christopher STOPES	IFOAM
Ms. Ingrid PETTERSSON	CEJA
Mr Jacob B. HANSEN	Fertilizers Europe
Dr. Friedhelm SCHMIDER	European Crop Protection Association
Mr. Francois VEILLERETTE	Pesticide Action Network Europe
Mr. Garlich VON ESSEN	European Seed Association
Mr. Christian SCHREFEL	ARCHE NOAH
Mrs. Nathalie MOLL	EuropaBio
Mr. Hans VAN ES	FRESHFEL EUROPE
Ms. Mella FREWEN	FoodDrinkEurope
Mr. Carlo PETRINI	Slow Food International
Mrs. Arnd SPAHN	European Federation of Food, Agriculture and Tourism Trade Unions
Prof. Dr. Risto PÄIVINEN	European Forest Institute
Mr. Hubert DE SCHORLEMER	Confederation of European Forest Owners
Dr. Martin BERGES	European $\stackrel{2}{Association}$ of Chambers of Agriculture
Mr Petri RINNE	European Leader Association for Rural Development